Visit to Ruthven Barracks and Highland Folk Museum
Fortunately the bad weather that was forecast failed to materialise and we had a very enjoyable day out. First stop was Aviemore for light refreshments and then onto Ruthven Barracks.
The barracks were built following the 1715 Jacobite uprising as a base for the redcoats to patrol the local area. Accomodation was provided for up to 120 officers and men and latterly stables were added for horses of dragoons.
The Jacobite rising of 1745 saw the barracks besieged in August of that year but a garrison of only twelve redcoats reputedly repelled a force of three hundred. However the Jacobites returned in February 1746 with heavy guns and the garrison duly surrendered!
Following the defeat at Culloden the remnants of the Jacobite army regrouped at Ruthven where they were informed to disperse and seek out safety. The barracks are now in the care of
Historic Environment Scotland
The Highland Folk Museum, previously located at Kingussie, opened at Newtonmore in 1996 expanding over the years to its current 80 acres stretching over a mile long site. There are four main areas to explore including Baile Gean (Township of Goodwill) a 1730s township superbly recreated based on an excavated settlement near Lynchat a few miles from Kingussie. Baile Gean was featured in the Outlander TV series. The other areas cover highland life through to the 1950s.
Lots to see all over the site including a school room where corporal punishment is still the order of the day! The old sweet shop, Kirk’s Store, is well worth a visit to get some Soor Plooms or Dolly Mixtures . The Museum is complemented by excellent facilities – cafe, toilets and gift shop.
For more on the Highland Folk Museum visit their website or better still go and see it for yourself. Finally a big thank you to Bill Ross our bus driver for whom nothing is too much bother. Very much appreciated.